0 Items
Select Page

Local meditation groups

blue-lotus-flowerA network of Meditation Groups (listed below) has developed throughout the UK and beyond, often set up by people who have spent time at Gaia House and wish to remain connected with this retreat centre and their experiences here.

If you run a sitting meditation group and your name and details are not featured here, please let us know and we can add you to this list. Please keep us informed of any changes so that we can publish your groups’ current information.

If you do not have a local Meditation Group and would like to set one up, please see our help page: Setting up a Meditation Group.

South West

Avon & Somerset

Bath Insight Meditation Group
John Williams Room, Bath Central United Reform Church, Grove Street, Bath BA26P
Friday 6-7pm
Sue Hawkey – 07929 842 776 – suehawkey@googlemail.com

Bristol Chan Group
Bristol Zen Dojo, 91-93 Gloucester Road, BS7 8AT (above Miss Millie’s Chicken)
Thursday 7.20-9.30pm
Mike Masheder – 0117 924 8819 – enquiries@bristolchan.co.uk
Pat Simmons – 0117 977 4683

Bristol Insight
Mannie Burn – 07952 662 552 – mannieburn@aol.com

Milverton
Fortnightly, Tuesday 7 -8.30pm
Nicola Belle – 01823 400 667

Cornwall

Callington
Thursday 7.30pm
Sheran & Paul Murray – 01579 370 142 – sheranmurray@hotmail.co.uk

Helston
Sophie Muir – 01326 221 651 – sophiemuir@freeuk.com

Penryn
Lucinda Pimlott – 01326 372 419 – lulupimlott@yahoo.co.uk

Penzance
Andy Ferris – 01736 719 064 – aeferris@btinternet.com

Devon

Ashburton
Art Studio, Ashburton Family Services, Woodland Road, Ashburton TQ13 7DD
Tuesday 7.30pm at the Quaker Meeting House, Foales Court, Ashburton TQ13 7QE
Jeremy Woodward – 01752 893 165 – southdevonchan@westernchanfellowship.org

Barnstaple
https://www.facebook.com/NorthDevonMeditationGroup/
1st, 3rd & 5th Sunday of the month
Denis Lincoln – 01271 831 003 – yewberries@gmail.com

Barnstaple, Milltown
Weekday mornings – time is flexible around those attending
Martin Paul – 07917 344 950 – martinbp40@gmail.com

Dartington
Dartington Village Hall
Wednesday 7-8.30pm
Caroline Low – 07818 861 931

Exeter
Hedgerows, Old Ebford Lane, Ebford, EX3 0QR
Mary Booker – 01392 496 079 – infobarleyfarm@gmail.com
Anne da Costa – 01392 874 386

Kingsbridge
www.kingsbridgemeditationgroup.org.uk
Tuesday 7.30-9.30pm
Steve Smith – 01803 771 123 – ss@stretecorner.com

Newton Abbot
Fortnightly, Wednesday 7-8.30pm
Mark Cooper – 07738 384 463 – mark@removabletype.com

Plymouth
John Pollex – 01752 224 902 – john@johnpollex.co.uk

Plymouth
Clearbrook Village Hall
Plymouth Mindful Breathing Sangha – a group informed by the teachings of Thich Nhat Hanh, holds mornings of practice in the Plum Village tradition (followed by an optional shared lunch) on a Sunday morning every 2 months. Please contact Jonny, preferably via email, for further details.
Jonny Rae – 01752 862 677 – raesrus@btopenworld.com

Totnes
http://totnes-meditation-group.org/
Natural Health Centre
Wednesday 7pm
Claire Greenland – 07511 082 621 / 01803 868 501 – clairesusangreenland@gmail.com

Totnes (Soto Zen)
Tuesday 7.30-9pm. Service, Zazen & Kinhin. Please call about occasional beginners sessions.
Devin Ashwood – 07875 155 464 – devin@dancingmountains.org.uk

Dorset

Blandford Forum
Meets most Monday mornings at group members houses, times variable
Andrew Lewis-Smith – a.lewissmith@btinternet.com

Colehill
Steve Wilkens – 01202 880 661 – steve.w@metronet.co.uk

Weymouth
Barbara Cohen – 01305 786 821 – barbara.sati@yahoo.com

Gloucestershire

Cheltenham
www.cheltenhammeditation.co.uk
Ivan Hatvany – 01242 514 280 / 07773 333 949 – ivanhatvany@gmail.com

Forest of Dean
Jane Spray – 01594 861 404 – jane-spray@tiscali.co.uk

Stroud
Kevin Glaister – 01453 762 838 – yogakevin@hotmail.com

Wiltshire

Salisbury
www.bowerchalkebuddhistmeditation.co.uk
Tuesday 6-7pm
Jack Kennedy – 01722 781 156 – kennedy.five@outlook.com

Swindon
www.swindonchan.org
Null
Swindon Chan Group
Hugh Carroll – 07949 605 519 – hughie@swindonchan.org

South East

Berkshire

Newbury
Susan Millington – 07958 574 524 – millington.susan@gmail.com

Hampshire

Isle of Wight / Newport
Tuesday 8pm
Scarlett Felstead – scarlettfelstead@gmail.com

Southampton
http://www.hampshirebuddhistsociety.org.uk/
The secretary – hampshirebuddhistsociety@gmail.com

Southsea
www.southseasangha.com
Portsmouth Yoga Centre, Albert Rd, Southsea
Sunday 6-7pm and last Sunday of each month 6-8pm
Daniel Sutton-Johanson – southseasangha@gmail.com

Winchester
https://winchesterzencommunity.wordpress.com/
Simon Roffey – simonroffey@me.com

Hertfordshire

Potters Bar
Vanessa Hope – 01707 644309 – vhope@mindfulnessforhealth.co.uk

Kent

Tunbridge Wells
Room 3 (above) Helios Homeopathy, 89-97 Camden Road, Tunbridge Wells Kent, TN1 2QR
First Wednesday of each month 7-10pm. Vipassana / Insight Meditation – ideal for people who have attended retreats (e.g. at London Insight / Gaia House etc). No access for wheelchairs.
John McLane – 07738 115 144 – googooplexus@gmail.com

Oxfordshire

Oxford
Offers regular one day retreats with Gaia House teachers
Brigid or David – 01608 811 940

Sussex

Brighton
http://www.bodhitreebrighton.org.uk/
Jiva Masheder – 07717 718 385 – btbsecretary@gmail.com

Seaford / Lewes / Eastbourne
Michael Hoey – 01323 304 668 – michaeljhoey@gmail.com

East of England

Cambridgeshire

Cambridge
Hamish Downer – 07963 221 031 – cambridgeinsight@gmail.com

Peterborough
Barbara Reid – 01733 252 322 – peterboroughinsight@gmail.com

Essex

Chelmsford
Mary Younger – 07850 702 640 – mary.younger@talk21.com

Colchester
Colchester Insight Meditation Group
Mike McKenna – 07729 428 970 – mmckcol@gmail.com

Southend-On-Sea
Henry Wilcox – 07772 520 076 – henryjwilcox@hotmail.com

Norfolk

Norwich
Jacqui McCarney – 07747 462 342 – jacquimccarney@yahoo.co.uk

Stoke Ferry
https://www.facebook.com/Great-Natural-Way-Dharma-Practice-Community-639873926119353/
Carol Hunter – 01366 502 106 – carolhunter135@hotmail.com

London

London

Dulwich
Stella Chapman – 0208 693 9251 – stellachapman@yahoo.co.uk

Hampstead
Manu Bazzano – 07817 382 910 – hazymoon@onetel.com
Sarita Doveton

Kingston Mindfulness Meditation Group
http://www.kingstonmeditation.org.uk/

Richmond Mindfulness Meditation Group
www.richmondmeditation.org.uk

Twickenham Mindfulness Meditation Group
www.twickenhammindfulness.com

Midlands

West Midlands

Birmingham
Anantacitta Tunnell – 0121 420 3268 – anantacitta@virginmedia.com

Knowle & Solihull
Julia Evans – 01564 777 605 – julia@dfte.co.uk

Worcestershire

Worcester
Sally Dean – 01905 352
Robert Wilins

North of England

Cumbria

Kendal
http://buddhistgroupofkendal.co.uk/
Castle Street Community Centre, Castle Street, Kendal, Cumbria, LA9 7AD. Detached Room – entrance on the side of the building.
BGKT holds an open meeting on the 3rd Sunday of the month (except December), from 2-4.30pm.
John Gerrard – 01539 729 793 – bgkt@etherway.net

Kendal
Space2Create, Studio 31 (Unit 31), The Factory, Castle Mills, Aynam Road, Kendal LA9 7DE.
This group is informed by the teachings of Thich Nhat Hahn. Meets 2nd and 4th Tuesday of each month, 7-8.45pm
Paul Hampson – 07980 802678 – paulhampson@gmail.com

Tyne and Wear

Whitley Bay
http://insightnortheast.com/
Walter Young – 07508 055 643 – walter@whitleybay.plus.com

Yorkshire

Huddersfield
Small sitting group meeting fortnightly in Holmfirth / Huddersfield
Jean Parker – 07401 112 819 – w.j.b@ntlworld.com

Sheffield
http://www.sheffieldinsightmeditation.org.uk/
Beth Longstaff – 07748 271 470 – sheffieldinsightmeditation@gmail.com

Scotland

Scotland

Edinburgh
Anne Bulmer – 07979 643 847 – anne_bulmer@hotmail.com

Edinburgh
Diane Tyrer – 07519 256 489 – dianetyrer8@gmail.com

Glasgow
http://www.glasgowzen.com/gzg/sit-with-us
Kian McEvoy – 07794 325 508 – kianmcevoy@gmail.com

Inverness
Peter Wilkes – 07814 147 260 – highlandmindfulness@gmail.com

Wales

Wales

Cardiff
Tim Blanch – 01656 841 625 – blanchtimmed@gmail.com

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
http://meditationmidwales.org/
Ella Titman Tamari – – info@ellatamari.com

Pembroke
Nina Pope – 01646 681 015 – ninalypope@gmail.com

Overseas Meditation Groups

Australia

www.dharma.org.au
This website gives information about other sitting groups in the Insight Meditation tradition in Australia.

Germany

Berlin Dharma
https://www.berlindharma.org/
Thursday evening 18-19.30
Peter Doobinin – peter@berlindharma.org

Ireland

Donegal
Aoife Valley – 00 353 (0) 86 304 2893 – info@aoifev.com

Netherlands

Amsterdam
Kate Honey – dunctonhoney@gmail.com

Spain

Santiago de Compostela
www.quietud.org
Manu Mariño – info@quietud.org